#### REPORT OF DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

## **MEETING HELD ON 25 MARCH 2009**

Chairman: \* Councillor Marilyn Ashton

Councillors \* Husain Akhtar \* Manji Kara (1)
: \* Don Billson \* Julia Merison
\* Mana Pharmaraiah \* Jarry Milas (2)

Mano Dharmarajah \* Jerry Miles (3) \* Keith Ferry Anthony Seymour

\* Krishna James

(1) and (3) Denote category of Reserve Members

[Note: Councillor Mano Dharmarajah and Anthony Seymour also attended this meeting to speak on the items indicated at Minute 334 below].

### **PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS**

# <u>RECOMMENDATION 1 - Proposed Changes to Structure of Strategic Planning and Development Management Committees</u>

The report set out a proposal for the rationalisation of the Strategic Planning Committee and Development Management Committee into a single committee in the interest of efficiency and effectiveness. The same report had been submitted to the Strategic Planning Committee at its meeting on 11 March 2009.

It was noted that this report had been previously submitted to the Strategic Planning Committee.

## Resolved to RECOMMEND: (to Council)

- That (1) there be a return to a single decision making committee for all non-delegated planning decisions to be known as the Planning Committee and with the terms of reference attached as an appendix to the report with effect from the Municipal year;
- (2) any consequential and necessary amendments to the Constitution be undertaken.

<sup>\*</sup> Denotes Member present